


How will I know which 
document I am appealing? 

Each document has an identifying name 
and/or number. A document's identifying 
information is usually found near the top or 
bottom of the document. The docket number 
for the Higher Authority Decision issued by the 
North Carolina Department of Commerce, 
Board of Review ("Board") is located at the 
top right on the first page of the decision. 

If I disagree with the Higher 
Authority Decision, can I 
take the case to court? 

Yes. You may ask that a superior court judge 
review the Higher Authority Decision and record 
of the case. A request for superior court review is 
called a petition for judicial review. You will have 
a chance to attend a hearing before a judge. If 
you do not properly file or serve your petition, the 
Division of Employment Security ("Division") will 
file a motion to dismiss the petition, and the 
judge will hear arguments on the motion. If your 
petition is filed and served properly, the judge 
will review your petition, the evidence that was 
presented before the Board, and the Board's 
decision. The judge will be looking at (1) whether 
there was any competent evidence in the record 
before the Board to support its findings of fact, 
and (2) whether the facts support the 
conclusions of law and the Higher Authority 
Decision. See N.C. Gen. Stat.§§ 96-15(h) and (i). 

How much time do I have to 
file an appeal in court? 

You have 30 days from the mailing date of the 
Higher Authority Decision (HAD) to file a petition 
for judicial review with the superior court. The 
decision becomes final 30 days after the HAD 
mailing date unless a timely petition for judicial 
review is filed with the superior court. The date of 
mailing is found on the last page of the decision. 
See N.C. Gen. Stat.§§ 96-15 (h) and (i). 

How do I file an appeal in court? 

You must file an appeal from a Higher Authority 
Decision with the Clerk of Superior Court in the 
county in which you live, or in which you have 
your principal place of business. If you do not 
live or have your principal place of business in 
any North Carolina county, you must file your 
petition for judicial review in the Superior Court 
of Wake County, North Carolina, or with the 
Clerk of Superior Court of the North Carolina 
county in which the controversy arose. See N.C. 
Gen. Stat.§ 96-15(h). 

Am I required to have legal 
representation to file a 
petition for judicial review? 

Maybe. Individuals can represent themselves in 
the superior court proceedings. Corporations 
must be represented in court by a licensed 
attorney. Representation in judicial proceedings, 
such as in the superior court, must comply with 
Chapter 84 of the North Carolina General 
Statutes and the North Carolina State Bar Rules. 
You can consult an attorney for legal advice. 

Where can I find an attorney? 

You may call the North Carolina Bar 
Association's Lawyer Referral Service at (919) 
677-8574, Legal Aid of North Carolina toll-free
at (866) 219-5262, or check your local
telephone directory.

What should I say in my 
petition for judicial review? 

The Board and the Division cannot tell you what 
to say in your petition for judicial review. You 
may consult an attorney for legal advice. The 
law requires that the petition for review explicitly 
state what exceptions are taken to the decision 
or procedure and what relief you are seeking. 
See N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 96-15(h). 

Do I have to provide a copy of 
my petition for judicial review to 
anyone other than the clerk of 
the superior court? 

Yes. Within 10 days after filing your petition for 
judicial review, you must serve a copy, either in 
person, or by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, on the Division's registered agent for 
service of process listed in the Higher Authority 
Decision. See N.C. Gen. Stat. §lA-1, Rule 4(j)(4). You 
must also serve a copy of the petition, either in 
person, or by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, on all parties to the proceedings before 
the Board and the Division, within 10 days of filing 
the petition (usually to the claimant if you are the 
employer, or the employer if you are the claimant). 
See N.C. Gen. Stat.§ 96-15(h). 

Should I continue to file claims 
for benefits until all appeals 
have been decided? 

Yes. If you are unemployed, you should continue 
to file your weekly certification until all appeals 
have been decided. Benefits will not be paid for 
weeks not claimed. See N.C. Gen. Stat.§§ 96-14.9 
and 96-15(b)(2). 

How can I get a copy of the 
Employment Security Law? 

The Employment Security Law is found in Chapter 
96 of the North Carolina General Statutes and in 
Title 4, Chapter 24 of the North Carolina 
Administrative Code. You can access a copy of 
the governing law on the DES website at 
https://www.des.nc.gov, the General Assembly's 
website at https://www.ncleg.gov, or the Office of 
Administrative Hearings' website at 
https://www.oah.nc.gov. 
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